Eagle Harbor Lighthouse in a storm

The Eagle Harbor Lighthouse Complex contains four different museums.

ANNOUNCEMENTS -- This is a test web site designed only to be seen by KCHS Board members. It is based on the existing KCHS web site, uses the much of the same content as the existing site but has major technical and design changes and additional content. Take the link below to the announcements page for all the details.
All of the KCHS Museums are closed for the 2013 season. We will post the 2014 schedule of activities in the spring.
Check the Sites and Museum Schedule page for hours and locations for all 11 KCHS museums for the past 2013 season.

Press here to see all of the current announcements.

About the Keweenaw County Historical Society

This web site offers a range of pages about the Society and it's work:


About the Keweenaw County Historical Society

The Keweenaw County Historical Society, a not-for-profit 501(c)(3)* organization, was established in 1981 to preserve and share the history of the county. It has over 1,200 members, many of whom are life members. It operates a number of museums that are open to the public in the summer, publishes a quarterly newsletter and several booklets, runs various programs for adults and children in the summer, maintains an archive of relevant documents, and actively maintains various historical properties.

The members of the Society have profound respect for those who went before, those who created the history we study and preserve. And we have a profound responsibility to those who will come after, to ensure that the history is still there. We are the connecting link, and it is important that we do our job well. Every membership and every gift is vital - we could not continue the Society's important and exciting work without such support.

* Press here to see a copy of the latest IRS Form 990-EZ which defines our 501(c)(3) status.

Officers and Trustees of the Keweenaw County Historical Society

President Virginia Petermann Jamison
Vice President Virginia Schubert
Secretary Anne Boggio
Treasurer Nancy Molloy

Frank S. Carlton, Deputy Treasurer
Michael Cooper
Connie Eddy
Elaine Hall, Deputy Treasurer
Ned Huwatschek
Paul R. Freshwater
Ron Lahti
John (Jack) B. Marta
Richard Mintken
Lawrence J. Molloy
Mark F. Rowe
Gerald Vairus

Honorary Trustees

Richard Dana
Peter Van Pelt
Eliose D. Liddicoat
Clarence J. Monette (deceased)
David H. Thomas


The Lauri W. Leskinen Memorial Award

House 25

The Lauri Leskinen Award is
given for outstanding service
to the Society.

Each year the KCHS presents the Lauri W. Leskinen Memorial Award, named for the founder and first president of the Society, to someone who has made noteworthy contributions to the preservation and sharing of the history of Keweenaw County. The most recent recipients were Eugene and Pegg Johnson who accepted the award at the Society's annual dinner in October, 2013.